Reviews for "Accu-Cut™"


Looking to Upgrade/Add To

I currently own the Rip-Cut and enjoy using it for what it can do. I like the idea that the Accu-Cut is able to be used in different ways, including freehand. Is the Accu-Cut available without the sled, since I already have it with my Rip-Cut?

     

Dana Reynolds

August 22, 2017

Absolutely great for weekend project within 1/32

I bought this unit to build a toolchest using 1/2" baltic birch plywood. I had to rip 4'x8' to rip apart. I made my cutting plan so I only had to cut on the 48" side PROS As precise as your marking and measuring tape. I achieved all my cuts within a 1/32" margin. Extraordinary price/quality ratio. Can't ask for more. The anti-skid works flawlessly. You do not have to fix the track to the piece. Lay it down, push the saw, that's it ! The track has a starting entry point which is away from your material so you can lay the saw on the track way before you hit the piece. It helped me to get confident. CONS Takes some patience to properly setup. For those of you who do not want to take your time and has to be working perfectly straight out of the box: there is festool track saw at a 1000$ for you. The attaching base could benefit of an improved method to securely attach the saw. However, once my DeWalt cordlees saw was attached to it, it did not move for the 30 cuts I made for this project. The bottom front of my saw raises. The Kreg plate has a reversible piece to compensate for flat or raising saw skid plate. The angle of my circular saw nose is greater than the piece can compensate for, that is, once titghten down, the saw does not sit flat on the bed of the plate. I wish there would have been an adustment for this. Nonetheless, i did absolutely not affect the accuracy of my cuts. When the plate is engaged on the track pointing away, the plate has a left to right play. I cannot explain why, but I achieved all my cuts without a flaw. I have to say that I was worried with this play at first. I made my cuts with a slight push of the saw to the left (toward the blue sacrificial plastic piece) Bottom line: this product is new, may benefit from a few minor improvements. Would I recommend it ? Absolutely yes. Hope this will help

     

Nicolas Simard

July 31, 2017

A good shop addition

I already have the Rip-Cut, have always been impressed with the ease of use. I also have a shop-made edge guide for my circular saw that I would use for cross cuts. The Accu-Cut is a good replacement for the edge guide - for a couple reasons. The first reason is that I would often push the saw away from the edge guide when cutting, especially when trying to reach all the way across a 48" sheet of plywood. This is prevented on the Accu-Cut due to the rails that the saw sled rides on. The other reason that the Accu-Cut is superior to an edge guide is that it is easier to clamp down. I often struggled with finding ways to get a good clamp on an edge guide. The grip strips on the Accu-Cut held very well, and if needed to clamp I could use Rockler hold-down clamps that fit in the t-track underneath the Accu-Cut. I felt that $80 was a very fair price for the extra functionality that the Accu-Cut provides. It will be a nice addition the the Rip-Cut and will be a huge help in safely breaking down sheet goods. Perfect tool for a DIYer!

     

Nik Guttormson

July 31, 2017

Theory Good, Compatibility Main Issue

I had high hopes for this product, but this product is incompatible with my Skil saw and incompatible with the one Kreg recommended (Makita). Notice that the description states that it works with "most" circular saws. My problem arose when I tried to mount the saw to the slider. The two swing arms, mounted with pointed bolts at their end mechanically interfere with Skil's levers and the worm drive. Thus, it is impossible to move the saw laterally across the sled. Furthermore, when I got it finally mounted with the front end of the saw squared with the front of the sled, and followed directions, the saw cut off the entire rubber extension protruding from the sides of the track. Tech support, very helpful indeed, told me not to be concerned since their purpose is only to minimize splintering. On page 3 of the manual, it tells you to cut off 1/32th of the rubber strip, which is impossible to do. So I went through the ordeal of returning the saw to the 3rd party that sells this saw on their web site. It took several messages to point out that the product was "defective and inoperable" (the category selected on advice from Kreg tech support). But I really wanted this product to work, so I cancelled the return and told them I was going to take the sled to the local HD store to ensure I could mount the new saw Ryobi with freedom to move the saw laterally. So I took this saw home and mounted it without any interference from Skil like parts experienced before. HOWEVER, another incompatibility was discovered. While the openings on the slider are about 1.125" (ample room for the spring loaded guard to swing through). This space is decreased by about 0.5" when one mounts the sled on the tracks groves. As such, there is not enough room for the spring loaded guard to swing through! ARRRG! So I'm returning the Kreg unit again. This time I will use an 8' level, clamped at both ends. Using hardwood like purple heart won't work as humidity changes. In case that the third party to Amazon refuses to accept my return, Amazon will cover the expense. My advice to Kreg is to list the names, models, and year of saws that will work for the benefit of their customers. I rate the product, documentation, and product description as 1 star, but I rate their Tech Support as a 5.

     

Tim Townsend

July 26, 2017

Kreg Does It Again

Kreg now has 2 products for accurate 4' X 8' cutting: 1. The Rip Cut tool to cut along the 8' side 2. KMA2700-Accu-Cut to cut along the 4' side. Nice work!

     

Timothy Barton

July 26, 2017

looks great

I'm waiting for the Accu-cut/Rip-cut package deal, and it wouldn't hurt if the package came with the clamps for the accu-cut as well...

     

Troy Rogers

July 18, 2017

Accu-Cut Review

Presently I don't own an Accu-Cut. It looks like a well made quality product but it is only 4 feet long. I would buy one if it was 8 feet so I could rip a full sized sheet.

     

Jerome Frauli

July 12, 2017

Only needs one more feature

This tool is very exciting. I love Kreg's quality an innovation! They solve so many customer problems in innovative ways with unbeatable durability. Unfortunately they fell 48" short on this one. I am puzzled why they did not come up with a full 8 feet of cutting track or at least give us the option of buying an extra track with a coupling kit. Some of us are not in the market for a full blown track saw solution but would love to use our own saws to solve the 8 foot cutting challenge. Hopefully this can be addressed quickly.

     

John LeJeune

July 10, 2017

How Can You Review Something You've Never Used?

Note: I didn't want to, but I had to select a star just to make this comment. None of the first 8 'reviewers' have even used this tool. How can they give it a meaningful rating? Their comments are based on the KREG video, the website description or the reviewers experience with similar tools. None of this compares with actual experience using this particular tool - that's what I believe most customers want to see a review reflect.

     

T Moran

July 7, 2017

stpetecraftsman

Looks great at a fair price. I will wait to buy when you add the other four feet. Im sure when you add 4' it will be in two 4' sections like you know who.

     

Terry Thomas

July 5, 2017

Track too short

To be fair, I do not own it. I have used a Makita track saw with dedicated tracks in different lengths up to one continuous track to make 8 foot rips. If you want a good rip have the right size track.

     

Joe Tuminello

July 5, 2017

whennnnn????

hey ///im from isreal and i wanna now when i can by theis prefect tool??? please

     

hen des

June 30, 2017

Dee Warren

Looks like another 5 star product. If not already in the works, being able to cut a full 8' length would be beneficial. Never being able to justify the cost of a Festool plunge, I will be buying the Accu-Cut.

     

Dee Warren

June 12, 2017

Longer

Looks great but please make this expandable to 8 feet

     

Ben Vanden Berg

June 8, 2017

Disappointing

I'm so disappointed that it's only 48 inches long. 50 or 55in (like track saw) would be much better. Melamine sheet are 49in wide and this is the kind of material that suffers the most of chipping. I'm also very skeptical about the joint in the middle. Not sure there's no play there. I tried this kind of splitted guide in the past and it didn't worth it. Kreg, please review your copy. Thanks.

     

Yves Nadeau

June 8, 2017

Expandable?

Another great looking product from Kreg and a much more economical option to the Festool or Dewalt tracksaw kits. The kit appears to come with two track sections and lists a maximum cut of 48". Would like to see that additional track sections could be added to make a full 96" cut length available for sheet goods.

     

Jason Leighton

June 8, 2017

Just seen the video on YouTube

So just seen the video on YouTube, and said I have to have this for my shop. I have several Kreg tool from the rip cut to pocket hole jig. This is my next want from the Kreg line of tools. Can't wait till it's available. And will update when it comes in.

     

Pete Getti

June 2, 2017